VKFF-0345 – Budj Bim National Park

26th June 2022

This was my second visit to Budj Bim NP. First time I had only managed 6 contacts, not even enough to qualify the park for the VKFF program. This time I came in from the South end of the park, via Kellys Rd. Came across a ‘Bee Site’ which didn’t have any bees in residence, so instead made the perfect place to pull off the track and throw out the EFHW.

The weather was again forcast to rain, and it had rained quite heavily on the drive here from Port Fairy. But the rain held off for a couple of hours, allowing me to set up, complete the activation and pull back down without any issues.

I don’t know what it is about this park, but the contacts were pretty slow. Only managed 20 contacts over the space of 45 minutes. I suspect the output power levels were down a bit. And Sunday mornings always seem a bit slow. Plus band conditions weren’t as good as they had been recently.

At least the park was now qualified for the VKFF program.

After activating the park I drove round to Lake Surprise and completed the Crater Walk and the Lava Canal walk. Both were worth the effort. Another enjoyable afternoon.